Trustpilot

Our Guide to the CBD

Whether you are an amateur or an expert, we provide you here with the essentials to improve your knowledge of the world of CBD. Mysterious and complex, this thousand-year-old natural product is arousing enthusiasm and curiosité́ around the world.

Then embark on a journey full of discoveries and let our experts guide you!

Our different CBD products

Discover here the history of hemp and take advantage of our flowers, oils and accessories to consume CBD premium Perfect Time® differently.

CBD Flowers

CBD Flowers

CBD Oils

CBD Oils

Accessories

CBD accessories

History of hemp and cannabis

The abbreviation CBD comes from cannabidiol, a molecule extracted from Cannabis Sativa, the famous hemp. On the other hand, this soothing active ingredient has no psychotropic effect because it contains no or very little THC, unlike marijuana, which contains high proportions of THC. The recreational and therapeutic applications of marijuana differ according to the legislation of the countries. Apart from CBD, in France hemp is also used in the textile industry, construction, cosmetics and food production.

Hemp, cannabis, or Cannabis Sativa, is a genus of flowering plant that grows natively in many parts of the world, especially in tropical and humid areas, as well as in mountainous regions. It is a versatile plant that has been regularly cultivated by many human groups.

In fact, hemp and marijuana are very similar plants since they belong to the same species (Cannabis Sativa), although they are varieties originating from different crosses and selections. Both plants belong to the same genus, but there are important differences in terms of morphology and active ingredients. Thus, the main difference remains that marijuana is a type of cannabis that has been cross-bred and selected to increase the concentration of THC or tetrahydrocannabinol.

Hemp through the ages

Hemp was therefore one of the first plants cultivated by man, as its use by human groups can be traced back to about - 8000 BC. In the Neolithic period, hemp was used for its strong fibers and nourishing seeds, while its resin had virtues considered medicinal. The use of hemp is then recognized in various societies and eras, whether in ancient Egypt where it was used to soothe inflammations, in ancient China where it was used to produce strong and resistant fibers used in the manufacture of clothing and ropes, but also as a medicine, or in the Middle Ages, when Charlemagne encouraged the production of hemp because of the multiple uses of its fiber (to make sails or ropes for boats for example).

In modern times in France, hemp was at the heart of the naval military economy and was used to make sails, ropes and ladders. During the first industrial revolution, hemp was gradually replaced by new synthetic fibres, such as nylon, but the recent revival of industrial hemp in Europe is a strong trend. This is due to strong environmental policies, the obligation to recycle and the significant drop in the production of non-recyclable materials. France remains Europe's largest producer of hemp, with about 50 000 tonnes of total production per year.

The plant was also used in other parts of the world, notably in America. In the United States, cannabis was openly prescribed as a medicine until the twentieth century; it was often consumed in tinctures and has become legal again in many states in the twenty-first century.

The virtues of the CBD

CBD is therefore a molecule belonging to the cannabinoid family. Like THC, it is an active substance present in hemp but in smaller quantities than THC (between 0.6 and 1%, compared to 12 to 25%). As the medical benefits of cannabis become more and more attractive to the public, new varieties may contain significant levels of CBD (up to 6% CBD). CBD or cannabidiol, historically less well known than THC, was discovered and appreciated progressively during the 20th century, notably because of its therapeutic potential. été́

The CBD was étudié́ as early as the middle of the 18th century and was first isolated in 1940 by Roger Adams from ethanolic hemp extract (Minnesota wild) and by Jacob and Todd from Egyptian Cannabis indica resin (see in particular: Burstein S. (2015) "Cannabidiol (CBD) and its analogs: a review of their effects on inflammation. In Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry. Elsevier).

Chemical formula

However, while the chemical formula of CBD was identified by Adams et al. the structure and stereochemistry of CBD was determined in 1963 by Raphael Mechoulam and Yuval Shvo. Mechoulam was then a chemist, biologist and professor of medicinal chemistry at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Israel. For more information, read: Thomas B.F. (2017) "Cannabidiol as a Treatment for Seizures, Convulsions and Epilepsy". In: Chandra S., Lata H., ElSohly M. (eds) Cannabis sativa L. Botany and Biotechnology. Springer.

From there, studies on CBD have followed one another and have highlighted the many therapeutic applications of CBD. For more details, see D.C. Hammell L.P. Zhang et al. study on the therapeutic potential for the relief of arthritic pain behaviours and inflammation without obvious side effects: Hammell, D. , Zhang, L. , Ma, F. , Abshire, S. , McIlwrath, S. , Stinchcomb, A. and Westlund, K. (2016). "Transdermal cannabidiol reduces inflammation and pain-related behaviours in a rat model of arthritis. In European Journal of Pain, 20: 936-948.

scholarly community

The strongest scientific evidence, however, is currently available at efficacité́ to treat some of the cruellest epilepsy syndromes of childhood, such as Dravet's syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS), which generally cannot be cured by medication. As such, you can consult Peter Grinspoon's study (2019). "Cannabidiol (CBD) - what we know and what we don't." In Harvard Medical Blog.

CBD is also present in several drugs such as Sativex, Epidiolex and Cannador, and is very effective as an anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, neuroprotective, anxiolytic, antidepressant, analgesic, anti-tumor agent, and antipsychotic.

The effects of cannabinoids vary, however, depending on their dosage, application, and the presence of other cannabinoids. CBD oil therefore often remains the most widespread form of absorption and one of the most effective. The latter is extracted from the cannabis flower by various methods and is mainly intended to be consumed orally as a drop under the tongue (sublingual oils).

The different varieties of plants

The many advances in recent years (with breeders increasingly genetically manipulating the plants) have made it possible to go far beyond the "classic" cannabis classification of the three varieties called sativa, indica and ruderalis. The morphological differences between the three species are the most visible, sativa plants are often large, with few branches and easily reaching heights of more than two meters, with narrow, light green leaves. Indica plants, on the other hand, are smaller and bushy, densely branched, with large dark green leaves. Finally ruderalis plants are much smaller than sativa and indica plants, with small thin stems and large leaves. Another difference is that ruderalis plants flower according to age, rather than exposure to light.

All these plants have in common that they contain cannabinoids, but in different concentrations. For example, indica and sativa plants generally contain high concentrations of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), a psychoactive compound generally associated with cannabis, while ruderalis plants generally have higher concentrations of CBD (cannabidiol). However, while cannabis breeders regularly cross different plants to create new varieties with distinct properties, there are many hybrids between sativa, indica and ruderalis on marché́ today. As a result, indica/sativa varieties with high CBD content can be found, as well as ruderalis plants with high THC content.

Extraction methods

There are several ways to extract CBD from the rest of the plant:

  • With liquid solvents (butane, isopropyl alcohol, ethanol, hexane...)
  • With CO2 with a closed-circuit extraction system
  • With vegetable oil (olive oil in particular)

Regardless of how it is absorbed, CBD remains a great natural product that helps you take care of yourself while helping to reduce the effects of a wide variety of health problems. Numerous studies now prove the many therapeutic uses and beneficial effects of CBD.

However, while some manufacturers of CBDs present it as a miracle recipe, a solution to every ailment encountered or a panacea for cancer, Perfect Time® does not claim that this is the case. We encourage consumers to use the CBD moderately and responsibly, whether to manage anxiety, insomnia and chronic pain, or - as we encourage - simply to enjoy a relaxing, quality time alone or with friends.

plant-nursery-36-2

Trustpilot

Notre Guide du CBD

Que vous soyez amateur ou expert, nous vous livrons ici les essentiels qui vous permettront d’améliorer vos connaissances du monde du CBD. Mystérieux et complexe, ce produit naturel millénaire suscite enthousiasme et curiosité́ à travers le monde.

Embarquez ​alors​ pour un voyage rempli de découvertes ​et​ laissez-vous guider par nos experts !

Nos différents produits CBD

Découvrez ici l’histoire du chanvre et profitez de nos fleurs, huiles, et accessoires pour consommer différemment le CBD premium Perfect Time®.

Fleurs CBD

Fleurs CBD

Huiles CBD

Huiles CBD

Accessoires

accessoires CBD

Histoire du chanvre et du cannabis

L’abréviation CBD provient du cannabidiol qui est une molécule extraite du Cannabis Sativa, le fameux chanvre. Ce principe actif apaisant n’a en revanche aucun effet psychotrope car il ne contient pas ou très peu de THC, contrairement à la marijuana qui contient des proportions élevées en THC. Les applications récréatives et thérapeutiques de la marijuana diffèrent selon les législations des pays. Mis à part pour le CBD, en France le chanvre sert aussi notamment à l’industrie textile, à la construction, à la fabrication de cosmétiques ou encore à l’élaboration de produits alimentaires.

Le chanvre, cannabis, ou encore Cannabis Sativa, est lui un genre de plante à fleurs qui pousse nativement dans de nombreux endroits du monde, en particulier dans les zones tropicales et humides, ainsi que dans les régions montagneuses. C’est une plante polyvalente qui a régulièrement été cultivée par de nombreux groupes humains.

De fait, le chanvre et la marijuana sont des plantes très semblables puisqu’elles appartiennent à la même espèce (Cannabis Sativa), bien qu’elles soient des variétés originaires de croisements et de sélections différents. Les deux plantes appartiennent au même genre, mais il existe des différences importantes en termes de morphologie et d’ingrédients actifs qui les composent. Ainsi, la différence principale reste que la marijuana est un type de cannabis qui a été croisé et sélectionné pour augmenter la concentration de THC ou de tétrahydrocannabinol.

Le chanvre à travers les âges

Le chanvre fut donc l’une des premières plantes cultivées par l’homme car son utilisation par des groupes humains peut être retracée jusqu’à environ – 8000 avant Jésus-Christ. Lors de la période néolithique, le chanvre était utilisé pour ses solides fibres et ses graines nourrissantes, tandis que sa résine possédait des vertus considérées comme médicinales. L’usage du chanvre est ensuite reconnu dans diverses sociétés et époques, que ce soit dans l’Égypte antique où il fut utilisé pour calmer les inflammations, en Chine antique où le cannabis servait à produire des fibres solides et résistantes utilisées dans la fabrication de vêtements et de cordes, mais aussi comme médicament, ou encore au Moyen Âge, lorsque Charlemagne encouragea la production de chanvre en raison des multiples utilisations de sa fibre (pour faire des voiles ou cordages de bateaux par exemple).

À l’époque moderne en France, le chanvre se retrouva au cœur de l’économie militaire navale et servit à la confection des voiles, des cordages et des échelles. Lors de la première révolution industrielle, le chanvre fut remplacé progressivement par de nouvelles fibres synthétiques, telles que le nylon, mais le renouveau récent du chanvre industriel en Europe est une tendance lourde. Elle s’explique par des politiques environnementales fortes, l’obligation de recyclage et de la baisse significative de production de matières non-recyclables. La France reste le plus gros producteur européen de chanvre, avec environ 50 000 tonnes de production totale par an.

La plante fut aussi utilisée dans d’autres parties du monde, notamment en Amérique. Aux États-Unis, le cannabis fut ouvertement prescrit comme médicament jusqu’au XXe siècle; il a souvent été consommé sous forme de teintures et est redevenu légal dans de nombreux États au XXIe siècle.

Les vertus du CBD

Le CBD est donc une molécule faisant partie de la famille des cannabinoïdes. À l’instar du THC, c’est une substance active présente dans le chanvre mais en quantités moindres que le THC (entre 0,6 et 1 %, contre 12 à 25 %). Alors que les atouts médicaux du cannabis attirent de plus en plus le public, de nouvelles variétés peuvent contenir des niveaux importants de CBD (jusqu’à 6% de CBD). Le CBD ou ​cannabidiol, moins​ connus historiquement que le THC, a été́ découvert et apprécié progressivement au cours ​du​ XXe siècle, notamment en raison de son potentiel thérapeutique.

Le CBD fut ainsi étudié́ dès le milieu du XVIIIe siècle et a pu être isolé pour la première fois en 1940 par Roger Adams à partir d’extrait éthanolique de chanvre (Minnesota wild) et par Jacob et Todd à partir de résine égyptienne de Cannabis indica (voir notamment: Burstein S. (2015) “Cannabidiol (CBD) and its analogs: a review of their effects on inflammation. In ​Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry​. Elsevier).

Formule chimique

Cependant, si la formule chimique du CBD a été identifiée par Adams et al., la structure et la stéréochimie du CBD ont bien été déterminées en 1963 par Raphael Mechoulam et Yuval Shvo. Mechoulam été alors​ chimiste, biologiste et professeur de chimie médicinale à l’université hébraïque de Jérusalem, en Israël​. Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez lire à ce propos : Thomas B.F. (2017) “Cannabidiol as a Treatment for Seizures, Convulsions and Epilepsy”. In: Chandra S., Lata H., ElSohly M. (eds) ​Cannabis sativa L.​ – Botany and Biotechnology. Springer.

De là, les études sur le CBD se sont succédées et ont permis de mettre en exergue les nombreuses applications thérapeutiques du CBD. Pour plus de détails, voir à ce titre l’étude sur le potentiel thérapeutique pour le soulagement des comportements liés à la douleur arthritique et de l’inflammation sans effets secondaires évidents de D.C. Hammell L.P. Zhang et al.: Hammell, D. , Zhang, L. , Ma, F. , Abshire, S. , McIlwrath, S. , Stinchcomb, A. and Westlund, K. (2016). “Transdermal cannabidiol reduces inflammation and pain-related behaviours in a rat model of arthritis”. In ​European Journal of Pain​, 20: 936-948.

communauté scientifique

La preuve scientifique la plus solide réside cependant pour le moment dans son efficacité́ à traiter certains des syndromes d’épilepsie les plus cruels de l’enfance, tels que le syndrome de Dravet et le syndrome de Lennox-Gastaut (LGS), qui ne peuvent généralement pas se soigner par les médicaments A ce titre, vous pouvez consulter l’étude de Peter Grinspoon (2019). “Cannabidiol (CBD) — what we know and what we don’t”. In ​Harvard Medical Blog​.

Le CBD est de plus présent dans plusieurs médicaments tels que le Sativex, l’Epidiolex et le Cannador et ​il se révèle être très efficace en tant qu’anti-inflammatoire, antioxydant, neuroprotecteur, anxiolytique, antidépresseur, analgésique, agent anti-tumoral, ou encore antipsychotique.

Les effets des cannabinoïdes varient cependant en fonction de leur dosage, de leur application, ainsi que de la présence d’autres cannabinoïdes. L’huile de CBD reste donc souvent la forme d’absorption la plus répandue et une des plus efficaces. Cette dernière est extraite de la fleur de cannabis par différentes méthodes et principalement destinée à être consommée oralement sous forme de goutte sous la langue (les huiles sublinguales).

Les différentes variétés de plantes

Les nombreux progrès ces dernières années (les sélectionneurs manipulant de plus en plus fréquemment génétiquement les plantes) ont permis dans une large mesure de dépasser la classification “classique” du cannabis que sont les trois variétés appelées sativa, indica, et ruderalis. Les différences morphologiques entres les trois espèces sont les plus visibles, les plantes sativa sont souvent grandes, peu ramifiées et atteignant facilement des hauteurs de plus de deux mètres, avec des feuilles étroites de couleur vert clair. En revanche, les plantes d’indica sont plus petites et touffues, densément ramifiées, avec de larges feuilles vert foncé. Enfin les plantes ruderalis sont beaucoup plus petites que les plantes sativa et indica, avec de petites tiges fines et de grandes feuilles. Une autre différence réside dans le fait que les plantes de ruderalis fleurissent en fonction de l’âge, plutôt que de l’exposition à la lumière.

Toutes ces plantes ont en commun de contenir des cannabinoïdes, mais dans des concentrations différentes. Ainsi, les plantes indica et sativa contiennent généralement de fortes concentrations en THC (tétrahydrocannabinol), un composé psychoactif généralement associé au cannabis, tandis que les plantes ruderalis ont généralement des concentrations plus élevées de CBD (cannabidiol). Cependant, alors que les sélectionneurs de cannabis croisent régulièrement différentes plantes pour créer de nouvelles variétés aux propriétés distinctes, il existe aujourd’hui sur le marché́ du cannabis beaucoup d’hybrides entre sativa, indica et ruderalis. Par conséquent, il est possible de trouver des variétés indica/sativa à forte teneur en CBD, ainsi que des plantes ruderalis à forte concentration en THC.

Méthodes d’extraction

Il existe plusieurs façons d’extraire le CBD du reste de la plante :

  • Avec des solvants liquides (butane, alcool isopropylique, éthanol, hexane…)
  • Avec du CO2 avec un système d’extraction en circuit fermé
  • Avec de l’huile végétale (l’huile d’olive notamment)

Quel que soit le mode d’absorption, le CBD reste un formidable produit naturel qui permet de prendre soin de ​soi​ tout en ​aidant​ à réduire les effets d’une grande variété de problèmes de santé. De nombreuses études prouvent dorénavant les nombreux usages thérapeutiques et les effets bénéfiques du CBD.

Cependant, tandis que certains fabricants de CBD ​le présentent ​comme une recette miracle, une solution à tous les maux rencontrés ou une panacée contre le cancer, Perfect Time​®​ ne prétend pas que ce soit le cas. Nous invitons ​les consommateurs​ à un usage modéré et responsable du CBD, que ce soit pour gérer l’anxiété, l’insomnie et la douleur chronique, ou bien – comme nous l’encourageons – simplement profiter d’un moment de détente et de qualité, seul ou entre amis.

plant-nursery-36-2